A&M–Central Texas ROTC Program Commissions 26 New U.S. Army Second Lieutenants

Karen Clos
May 7, 2024

Texas A&M University–Central Texas will celebrate the commissioning of 26 new U.S. Army second lieutenants in a Commissioning Ceremony, Friday, May 10, at 10 a.m. at the Killeen Civic Center.

LTG Donna W. Martin will be the featured speaker and is the Inspector General of the U.S. Army, assuming responsibility as the 67th Inspector General on September 2, 2021. LTG Martin is a native of Yorktown, Virginia, and a graduate of Old Dominion University, with a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice. She was commissioned in the Military Police Corps in 1988. LTG Martin holds a master’s degree in strategic studies from the United States Army War College.

Major Kyle Surridge, assistant professor of military science, noted that A&M-Central Texas cadets have excelled among other ROTC programs nationally, routinely earning rankings among Distinguished Military Graduates in the top 10 percent. Five of the cadets being commissioned will be attending the upcoming commencement this Saturday, receiving their graduate degrees and 21 of the cadets being commissioned will be receiving their undergraduate degrees.

Additionally, 22 of the new officers have achieved their new rank as a result of the U.S. Army Green to Gold Program, a competitive program open to enlisted men and women who, upon recommendation, complete extensive leadership training as well as their undergraduate or graduate degree and commission as second lieutenants.

Program statistics indicate that all 26 of the cadets being commissioned have been selected for active duty and 50% are graduating with honors. The A&M-Central Texas ROTC program has produced a total of 260 newly commissioned second lieutenants since the university opened in 2009.

The commissioning ceremony will include traditional elements such as the oath of office, family and friends affixing their officer’s rank, and the time-honored traditional silver dollar salute. Cadets to be commissioned are:

  • Alexis Alonso
  • Jesse Angulo
  • Alexander Bradley
  • Tom Bustos
  • Marvin Caines
  • Joffree Calix
  • Angel Colon
  • Jessy Espinola
  • Dominique Favor
  • Angelina Garza
  • Gordon Alvin
  • Brittany Hanchett
  • Demarkus Kahey
  • Mahmoud Kamara
  • Tyler Le Pere
  • Jawon Love
  • Aliou McCauley
  • Athea Montero
  • Abraham Obeng
  • Carl Patrick
  • Christopher Petzke
  • Patricia Richards
  • Thomas Snider
  • Jessica Solis
  • Bennie Wilkins
Virtual Advisor