Limits on Drops and Withdrawals
This policy is to help students stay on course for graduation with minimal cost for the student.
Section Bill 2183, 80th Legislature; THECB Regulations, Chapter 4, Section 4.10(a) states, beginning with the fall 2007 academic term, and applying to students who enroll in higher education for the first time during the fall 2007 academic term or any term subsequent to the fall 2007 term, an institution of higher education may not permit an undergraduate student a total of more than six dropped courses.
A student is considered to have withdrawn from the institution when the student drops all courses during the semester. The student will receive a non-punitive grade of W if the withdrawal takes place before the last day to drop. If the student withdraws after the last day to drop, a WF grade will be assigned to all courses. This grade is calculated as an F for GPA purposes.
Note: If a student has received a grade for the semester, the student is not allowed to withdraw from the remainder of the courses. The student must contact the instructor to determine how to best complete the course requirements.
A Student who withdraws from the University will be required to reapply and be admitted before registering for future terms.
Course Drop Definition
A course drop, which will be recorded on the transcript, is defined as an affected credit course not completed by an undergraduate student who:
- Is enrolled in the course at the official date of record*, and
- Will receive a non-punitive grade of Q
* Date of record varies according to the length of the course.
Date of Record
|Course Length||Date of Record|
|3 week course||2nd class day|
|5 or 6 week course||4th class day|
|8 week course||6th class day|
|16 week course||12th class day|
For example: If a semester starts on Monday, Thursday of that week is considered the 4th class day for all classes.
The following limitations on dropped courses apply to all Undergraduate students entering Texas Public Higher Education for the first time in fall 2007 or thereafter:
- An Undergraduate student enrolled at Texas A&M University - Central Texas is permitted a total of 6 dropped courses, including any transfer courses dropped at any other Texas public institution of higher education. Any course dropped before the census day does not count in this total. Please view the academic calendar for the official census date (last day to drop with no record) for the term in question.
- After a student has accumulated 6 dropped courses, he or she will not be permitted to drop any class unless an appeal is submitted to and approved by the Registrar.
- A student who is not satisfied with the decision of the Registrar may appeal to the Director of Enrollment Management. This administrative review will be limited to verification that the student has had the opportunity to present appropriate documentation and that the provided materials and statements were considered in making the decision.
- A student who drops a class receives a grade of Q on their record. A student who withdraws from the university receives a grade of W or WF for each class. W's and WF's will not be counted as dropped courses.
- A student who wishes to file an appeal for exceeding the 6 Drop Limit must fill out the appeal form and return to the Registrar's Office (located in Founder's Hall, Room 108 or email to firstname.lastname@example.org.) This appeal should be filed IMMEDIATELY upon learning that the requested drop is in excess of the 6-drop limit.
- An appeal will have to be filed each time the student wishes to drop a course and has exceeded the 6 drop limit.
Excluded Courses from Limit
Drops from the following type of courses are excluded from the course drop limit.
- Courses taken by students while enrolled in high school – whether for dual credit, early college credit, or for college credit alone.
- Courses dropped at private or out-of-state institutions.
- Remedial or developmental courses, workforce education courses, or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree.
- Aerospace Studies courses not eligible for formula funding.
- Courses taken as required co-requisites such as a lecture class with a required laboratory are counted as one drop whether or not identified as separate courses or as separate sections of a course.
- Courses which meet the definition of complete withdrawal.