Skip to Main Content Skip to Title Bar Skip to Menu Bar Skip to Local Menu Skip to Footer Menu

office of the Registrar

Undergraduate Funding Limit Rule

This legislation is an attempt to offer a financial incentive to encourage students to complete degree programs in a timely manner. Students are then subject to penalty for excessive hours.

If you are a Texas resident and you enrolled in any Texas public institution of higher education BEFORE Fall 1999 you are exempt from the Undergraduate Funding Limit Rule.

If you are a Texas resident and you enrolled in any Texas public institution of higher education for the first time in Fall 1999 or later, the following provision applies to you:

Students Affected

Texas Education Code §54.014 provides that there is now a limit on the number of hours an undergraduate Texas resident may attempt* while paying in-state tuition.  Students who started Fall 1999 through Summer 2006 and attempt* 45 or more semester credit hours beyond the hours required to complete their degree could be charged tuition not exceeding out-of-state tuition rates for these excess hours.

Students who started Fall 2006 and thereafter and attempt* 30 or more semester credit hours beyond the hours required to complete their degree could be charge tuition not exceeding out-of-state tuition rates for these excess hours. Students who have not selected a major are considered, by state law, to have degree requirements of 120 hours.

Developmental courses are excluded from these rules.

For example: If your approved degree plan requires 120 semester credit hours, and you started your higher education between Fall 1999 through Summer 2006 then for every credit hour you attempt* beyond 165 (120+45), you could be charged tuition not exceeding out-of-state tuition rates.

If you started your higher education Fall 2006 and thereafter then for every credit hour you attempt* beyond 150 (120+30), you could be charged tuition not exceeding out-of-state tuition rates.

{Please note that all hours in which a student was enrolled at any Texas public institution of higher education, community college or 4-year public institution, are counted for the 45 or 30 hour cap whether or not the hours are accepted for transfer credit at Texas A&M-Central Texas. }

Home of the Warriors