Skip to Main Content Skip to Title Bar Skip to Menu Bar Skip to Local Menu Skip to Footer Menu

tamuct University Library

Circulation Guidelines

Texas A&M University- Central Texas ID/Library Cards

A TAMUCT ID is needed to activate your account with the TAMUCT Libraries. The TAMUCT Business Services office issues the TAMUCT ID to:

  • All students, including Fort Hood students
  • Staff
  • Faculty
  • Adjunct faculty

General Information

Patrons are responsible for:

  • All materials borrowed on their ID cards
  • Returning or renewing library materials by the due date.

Lending Guidelines

In general, our lending guidelines are determined by your affiliation to TAMUCT. Faculty and staff may check out up to 50 items at one time. Graduate students and post-baccalaureate students may check out up to 30 items at one time. Undergraduate students may check out up to 20 items at one time. Most items are allowed 2 renewals, though there may be limits for media, reserves, and equipment. Lending periods for specific types of items are listed below.

Lending Period for Books and Audio:

  • Faculty and Staff — 8 weeks
  • Undergraduate, Graduate, and Post-Baccalaureate — 4 weeks

Lending Period for Video and Periodicals Older than 1 Year:

  • Faculty and Staff — 1 week
  • Undergraduate, Graduate, and Post-Baccalaureate — 3 days

Lending Period for Equipment, Microform, and Reference:

  • Faculty and Staff — 1 week
  • Undergraduate, Graduate, and Post-Baccalaureate — 2 hours, In Library Use

If you have questions are concerns, please call use at (254) 519-8741 or email us at library@tamuct.edu.

Renewal of Materials

  • To renew materials, patrons should go to the Circulation Desk in the University Library.
  • To renew by phone, please contact the Lending Library Circulation Desk at (254) 519-8741.
  • Interlibrary loan (ILL) items may not be renewed online. For ILL renewals contact the ILL Office at (254) 519-8741.
  • Library Materials may not be available for renewal if:
    * A hold has been placed on the book
    * Bills have been charged to your library account

Past due Library Material

  • Multi-Week Checkouts: Books and Audio Books.
    • Patrons have a two week grace period to return items before any fines accrue.
    • Students are charged $.25 per day for 30 days, with maximum fine of $7.50. Faculty and staff are not charged an overdue fine.
    • At 45 days overdue, the item is declared lost. At this time, all patrons are charged the replacement cost of the book and the maximum fine of $7.50.
  • One Week or Multi-Day Checkouts: Reserves, DVDs, VHS, and Older Periodicals.
    • Student are charged a fine of $1.00 per day. Faculty and staff are not charged, unless the item is on reserve. There is no grace period.
    • The item is declared lost at 7 days overdue. At this time, the patron will be charged the replacement cost of the item and the maximum $7.00 fine.
  • In-Library Use only: Reserves and New Periodicals (2 hour use)
    • All patrons are charged .50 per hour. There is no grace period.
    • The maximum fine is $3.00/day.
    • The item is declared lost at 7 days overdue. At this time, the patron will be charged the replacement cost of the item and the maximum $21.00 fine.
  • InterLibrary Loan
    • All patrons are charged a $1.00/day fine. There is no grace period.
    • In addition to the TAMUCT's fine, the loaning library may charge for a past due item.
    • If the item is damaged or lost, the patron will be responsible for any bills that the lending library charges.

A hold will be placed on the student's Banner account that restricts registration, transcripts, and receiving a diploma when the item is declared lost. No further checkouts will be permitted until library account is in good standing once items are overdue.

Library Fine Appeals

If you believe your fine is a mistake or there was an extenuating circumstance, you may appeal using the web form:

  • You will be notified of the outcome of your appeal after it has been reviewed.
  • If you have not heard back from anyone within 3 weeks, please contact the Circulation Coordinator (254-519-5474).

Appeals are handled on a case-by-case basis. The following are not generally regarded as valid reasons for canceling or reducing library charges:

  • Lack of knowledge of library rules or the amount of charges.
  • Being too busy to return items.
  • Allowing others to borrow materials on your account which are returned late or lost.
  • Being out of town.
  • Uncertainty about the due date.
  • Failing to receive an overdue notice.
Home of the Warriors